In This Section


About the Award

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi currently awards 54 Fellowships of $8,500 each, six at $20,000 each, and two at $35,000 each to members entering the first year of graduate or professional study. Each active Phi Kappa Phi chapter may select one candidate from among its local applicants to compete for the Society-wide awards.  

Established in 1932, the Fellowship Program annually provides funding to first-year graduate students who are pursuing post-baccalaureate degrees across all academic disciplines. Endorsed by their local chapter, Phi Kappa Phi Fellows go on to study at some of the nation’s top graduate schools.


Dec. 15, 2021: Application portal opens

Late March/Early April 2022: Applicants must apply through their local chapter. Chapter deadlines vary, typically two weeks prior to the national deadline. Check with your chapter.

April 15, 2022: National deadline

Summer 2022: Recipients will be notified

Want a reminder when applications open again? Click here.


To apply for a Phi Kappa Phi Fellowship, you must:

  • Be an active member of Phi Kappa Phi (annual dues paid by April 15 of the current year) or have accepted membership by June 30 of the year in which you are applying. Applications will be accepted from individuals selected for membership but not yet initiated; see the application form for details.
  • Have applied to enroll as a full-time student in a post-baccalaureate program of study for the current academic year. Accredited international institutions are acceptable.

Please note: Applicants who have successfully completed 10 or more graduate credits on or before April 15 are not eligible.

Selection Criteria

Selection is based on the applicant's promise of success in graduate or professional study, as evidenced by:

  • Academic achievement, including transcripts, honors and awards, relevant research experience, standardized test scores, and samples of creative work
  • Service and leadership experience, on and off campus
  • Letters of recommendation
  • Personal statement and career goals
  • Work Sample
  • Acceptance/Application at an approved graduate or professional program

Application Process

You may complete the application online and save the completed PDF. You'll then submit the application, official transcripts, test scores (if applicable), work sample, and two letters of recommendation to your local chapter by their deadline. Contact your chapter to verify their preferred means of submission. Your chapter president's email address may be found in the online Chapter Directory. Each chapter will select one applicant as its nominee for the competition. 


For a list of the most recent recipients, FAQ and additional applicant resources, click here.