In This Section

2023 Fellowship Recipients

Phi Kappa Phi is proud to present the 2023 Phi Kappa Phi Fellowship recipients. The Society awards two Fellowships of $35,000 each, six at $20,000 each, and fifty of $8,500 each to members entering the first year of graduate or professional study. Each active Phi Kappa Phi chapter may select one candidate from among its local applicants to compete for the Society-wide awards.

1897 Fellow

Grayson Buning

Grayson Buning
Nominating Chapter: University of Michigan
Graduate Institution: University of Michigan

"Phi Kappa Phi's commitment to honoring its founding members' emphasis on nurturing interdisciplinary excellence has created a collaborative, diverse, and resource-rich honors society. In receiving this generous award, I will be able to focus wholly on my studies. For this, I am immensely grateful."  1

Click here to read more about Grayson Buning.

Sherrill Carlson Fellow

Eric DillonEric Dillon
Nominating Chapter: Marshall University
Graduate Institution: University of Cambridge

"Receiving the Sherrill Carlson Fellowship is an incredible honor that I couldn't have dreamed of receiving. This fellowship gives me both the financial support and the encouragement to pursue my future research and studies. I am grateful to Phi Kappa Phi, its donors, my chapter, and everyone who helped make this possible."  2

Click here to read more about Eric Dillon.

Marcus L. Urann Fellows

Rocco BrunoRocco Bruno
Nominating Chapter: Youngstown State University
Graduate Institution: The Ohio State University College of Medicine

"While this generous award will help me achieve my medical education and my dream of becoming a physician, more importantly, I hope it serves as an example to those back home of what is possible when you are fueled by Youngstown-grit. Thank you to the Alice and Russell True Foundation for sponsoring my fellowship and thank you to the Mahoning Valley for shaping me into a force for the future." 

Click here to read more about Rocco Bruno.

Gabriel CutterGabriel Cutter
Nominating Chapter: Clemson University
Graduate Institution: Massachusetts Institute of Technology

"I feel extraordinarily honored to be a recipient of the Marcus L. Urann award and sincerely thank Phi Kappa Phi for selecting me, for sharing in its wealth of knowledge and mentorship, and for making my future brighter."

Click here to read more about Gabriel Cutter.

Taylor DiggsTaylor Diggs
Nominating Chapter:The Citadel
Graduate Institution: Harvard Law School

"It is such an honor and blessing to be selected as a 2023 Marcus L. Urann Fellowship recipient. I would like to express my gratitude to the members of The Citadel Phi Kappa Phi chapter and the national selection committee for their support of my application. Most of all thank you to the members and donors of Phi Kappa Phi that have made this award possible. The financial support of the Marcus L. Urann Fellowship will allow me to pursue my passion for the law."

Click here to read more about Taylor Diggs.

Ivy NguyenIvy Nguyen
Nominating Chapter: University of South Alabama
Graduate Institution: Frederick P. Whiddon College of Medicine

"Because of the generous financial support provided through this Fellowship, I will be able to focus on my medical education, allowing me to better serve patients in the future. I would like to thank Phi Kappa Phi for its investment in my professional schooling, my mentors for their guidance and advice, and my family and friends for their continuous encouragement." 

Click here to read more about Ivy Nguyen.

Breanna ShenBreanna Shen
Nominating Chapter: The University of Texas at Dallas
Graduate Institution: UTHealth Houston McGovern Medical School/MD Anderson Cancer Center

"I am very honored to receive the Marcus L. Urann Fellowship. To me, this incredible distinction is both a recognition of my past accomplishments and an inspiring force that motivates me to work hard towards achievements and breakthroughs in medicine and science that will better serve the patient community."  

Click here to read more about Breanna Shen.

Nimisha SrikanthNimisha Srikanth
Nominating Chapter: Texas A&M University
Graduate Institution: Yale University School of Public Health

"I am so grateful to Phi Kappa Phi for their recognition and the honor of being named a Marcus L. Urann Fellow. This award will support me in continuing my journey of becoming a better public health professional who always centers the community and their voices in my work." 

Click here to read more about Nimisha Srikanth.

2023 Phi Kappa Phi Fellows

Name Nominating Chapter
Hannah Adamson6 George Mason University
Catheryn Bolick Middle Tennessee State University
Haley Brennan University of Connecticut
Karisa Candreva Ball State University
Michelle Cherian University of Toledo
McKenzie Dyess Eastern Washington University
Collin Ellsbury13 Oklahoma City University
Godwin Emeka-Ibe Berea College
Piper Floyd East Tennessee State University
Tracey Fuentes University of Nevada Las Vegas
Zander Gibney13 University of Nebraska at Omaha
Alicyn Grete4 United States Military Academy
Manuel Gutierrez Bloomsburg University
MaryEllen Haas11 Marymount University
Samantha Hall The University of Memphis
Nikki Hammond  University of Houston
Annelise Henry10 Nicholls State University
Ellie Jackson11 Montana State University 
Andrea Kimpson11 College of Charleston 
Kelsey Klein  University of California, Davis
Kate Kouplen  Oklahoma State University 
Austin Kruse  Kansas State University 
Matthew Lehman  Western Carolina University 
Evan Leonard5 Louisiana State University 
Megan Lolley  University of Idaho 
Kiana Magee  University of Kansas 
Jacob Mason  Nebraska Wesleyan University 
Meghan Mitchell  The Ohio State University 
Jaden Nelson11 Southern Virginia University 
Hanna Noughani13 University of Wisconsin-Madison
Paola Ortiz-Gonzalez  Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico
Katherine Peppiatt James Madison University 
Mallory Poff Elon University
Jennifer Potts  North Carolina State University 
Julia Powell  Hillsdale College 
Ari Rickman11 University of Maryland, College Park 
Elisabeth Rios-Brooks9 University of Florida 
Lindsey Roloff8 St. Norbert College 
Audrey Safir12 University of Georgia 
Rafal Samaan  Jacksonville University 
Breanna Sampo McKendree University 
Yesha Shah  University of Florida 
Elizabeth Shreidan University of Massachusetts Amherst 
Madison Smith  Grand Valley State University 
Jacklyn Staffeld  Eastern Michigan University 
Madalyn Stewart11 Fordham University
Stephanie Tillotson University of Maine 
Nicholas Tom  California State University, Fresno 
Robert VanderSchaaff  Coe College 
Margaret Walker7 The University of Mississippi 
Sarah Westmoreland13 Samford University 
Trey Wineglass Winthrop University 
Ryan Zapp  University of the Pacific 
Julia Zickus  Elmhurst University 

Named Fellowships

Several of Phi Kappa Phi's Fellowships have been endowed by generous donors. To see a complete list of the Society's named fellowships and the contributors who made them possible, click here.

Back to top