In This Section

Ray Sylvester Distinguished Service Award Recipients

Joshua Granger

The Ray Sylvester Distinguished Service Award honors an individual who has provided sustained, non-compensated volunteer service to others beyond the realm of academia. The award is given once per biennium.

Joshua Granger, an assistant professor specializing in quantitative silviculture within the Department of Forestry at Mississippi State University, has been honored as the 2024-2026 Phi Kappa Phi Ray Sylvester Distinguished Service Award recipient. Granger received the award for her outstanding dedication to service extending beyond academia.

Granger, originally from central Nebraska, obtained a bachelor’s degree in German and biology, as well as a master’s degree in biology, from the University of Nebraska at Kearney. He furthered his education by earning a second master’s degree in statistics and a doctorate in natural resources from the University of Tennessee. As a lifelong learner, he is currently pursuing doctoral studies in higher education leadership at Mississippi State University.

Click here to read more.

Past Ray Sylvester Distinguished Service Award Recipients

2022-24 The University of Southern Mississippi Lynn Hagan


North Dakota State University

Tim Flakoll


University of Arkansas at Little Rock

David L. Briscoe


Central Washington University

Robert E. Holtfreter


San Diego State University 

Peter Larlham