Member Mentions – April 2022

Marla Elsea
Apr 25, 2022

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi's international community is a unique blend of students, academicians, and corporate and civic leaders from all fields of endeavor. Membership in Phi Kappa Phi recognizes and rewards academic success. That recognition doesn’t end after initiation. From their time in school to their professional career, Society members’ hard work continues to pay off and be acknowledged.

Phi Kappa Phi would like to congratulate these members on their recent achievements:

Sophie Burks (Middle Tennessee State University) earned a spot on the Conference USA All-Academic Second Team in women's golf. This is the second year in a row she has been named C-USA All Academic. She is also a three-time All-Conference USA selection.

Emily Dombrowski (College of Charleston) was named a Goldwater Scholar for the 2022-23 academic year. The scholarship supports students in the fields of math, science and engineering. Dombrowski, a marine biology and French double major, plans to explore the effects of climate change.

Allen Li (Auburn University) has been named as a 2022 Truman Scholar. The political science and economics double major dedicates himself to making Auburn's campus more inclusive and accessible. The Truman Scholarship was created by Congress in 1975 and aims to support aspiring public service leaders in the United States.

Kim Mulkey (Louisiana Tech University) won the 2022 Associated Press National Coach of the Year award. This is Mulkey's third time to earn the award though her first win as the women's basketball coach at Louisiana State University.

Hannah Prochnow (Millikin University) and her team partner earned second place overall at the 2022 Model Illinois Government Moot Court Competition. The competition simulates arguments at the Illinois Supreme Court level and helps pre-law students understand the process of legal proceedings.

Martha Wong (University of Houston) has been reappointed to the Texas State Library and Archives Commission by Gov. Greg Abbott. The commission's mission is to manage archives and preserve history, support libraries and learning, provide access to public records and to provide reading and literacy services.

Emma Yoder (Slippery Rock University) has been chosen as SRU's 2022 finalist for the Syed R. Ali-Zaidi Award for Academic Excellence. This award is given to a graduating senior who exemplifies academic excellence and involvement.

Ten seniors at University of Mississippi have inducted into the university's 2021-22 Hall of Fame, a recognition considered one of the highest honors given to Ole Miss students. Among those named are Phi Kappa Phi members Ella Endorf, Katelin Hayward and Reinhard Knerr.

Do you have an accomplishment you’d like to share? Email your member news to to be considered for inclusion.