Member Mentions – August 2021

Marla Elsea
Aug 30, 2021

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi's international community is a unique blend of students, academicians, and corporate and civic leaders from all fields of endeavor. Membership in Phi Kappa Phi recognizes and rewards academic success. That recognition doesn’t end after initiation. From their time in school to their professional career, Society members’ hard work continues to pay off and be acknowledged.

Phi Kappa Phi would like to congratulate these members on their recent achievements:

Brooke Hursh (Florida Institute of Technology) has been named a 2021 Astronaut Scholar by the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation. The recognition signifies she is among the top STEM students in the country.

Megan Pallozzi (East Carolina University) has been nominated for the 2021 NCAA Woman of the Year award. Pallozzi, a team captain on the lacrosse team, finished her four-year Pirate career as the top goalscorer in East Carolina lacrosse history.

Cameron Poole (Angelo State University) was awarded a 2021 Rodeo Achievement Scholarship from Rodeo Houston. These scholarships are given to current Rodeo scholars at a Texas college or university.

Holland Pratt (United States Military Academy) has been selected First Captain of the school's Corps of Cadets for the 2021-2022 academic year. This is the highest position in the cadet chain of command.  Pratt, a military history major, will be responsible for the overall performance of the Corps of Cadets.

Selena Ramkeesoon (University of Maryland Global Campus) was invited to speak at the 2021 Distance, Teaching and Learning Conference hosted by the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Her session focused on connecting with Gen Z, millennial and adult learners online.

John Sawyer Strickland (Jacksonville State University) has been named mellophone section leader for the Marching Southerners at JSU for 2021-2022.

Tau Beta Pi, the engineering honor society, has awarded scholarships to engineering students for the 2021-22 academic year. Recipients include Ahouba Agbalessi (Rochester Institute of Technology), Duncan Bauserman (University of Kansas), Clare Chong (University of Louisiana at Lafayette), Michael Clark (North Carolina State University), Kinor Eliaz (Colorado State University), Caroline Franklin (University of South Alabama), Taylor Hodes (University of Kansas) Hayden Jenkins (University of South Alabama), Kevin Lin (United States Military Academy), Amaya McNealey (North Carolina A&T State University), Gungor Ozseker (Old Dominion University), and Emma San Martin and Gillian Schiffer (United States Military Academy).

Do you have an accomplishment you’d like to share? Email your member news to to be considered for inclusion.

Related Posts