Phi Kappa Phi Announces Finalists for Excellence in Innovation Award

May 7, 2018

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi—the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines—today announced the three finalists for its 2018 Excellence in Innovation Award. The $100,000 award, given once per biennium, recognizes one institution of higher learning for achievement in finding powerful answers to important local, regional, national or global challenges.

The finalists, selected by a jury of emeritus presidents and provosts, were chosen from a pool of six semifinalists representing multifaceted projects at institutions across the nation. Each institution was assessed on the project’s ability to achieve meaningful, measurable outcomes to create systemic large-scale change.

The three institutions chosen as finalists are:

  • The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art
  • University of North Alabama
  • Western Michigan University

“The semifinalist institutions presented our jury with six fine examples of innovative projects they have successfully implemented on campus, in their community, or globally. Each distinct in its own right, all showcased creative approaches to the problem solving so essential in these times,” said Society Executive Director Dr. Mary Todd. “Phi Kappa Phi is pleased to recognize the three finalists as well as extend congratulations to the semifinalists whose projects merit honorable mention.”

The 2018 recipient will be announced Monday, May 21, and will receive $100,000 in tangible recognition of its best practice in response to the changes and challenges facing higher education in the 21st century. The award will be presented at the Society’s biennial convention on August 3 in Minneapolis.

The three semifinalist institutions receiving honorable mention are Elon University, Marquette University and California State University, Fresno.

Since 1932, Phi Kappa Phi has awarded fellowships and grants to members and students on its chapter campuses. Currently, $1.4 million is awarded each biennium through programs that last year recognized over 350 individuals. The Excellence in Innovation Award, first awarded in 2016 to Tulane University, is the Society’s only award for institutions.

For more information about the award, click here.