Phi Kappa Phi Announces Semifinalists for Excellence in Innovation Award

Mar 12, 2018

Phi Kappa Phi today announced the six semifinalists for the 2018 Excellence in Innovation Award. The $100,000 award, given once per biennium, will recognize an institution for achievement in finding powerful answers to important local, regional, national or global challenges.

The semifinalists were chosen from a large pool of applicants representing multifaceted projects at colleges and universities across the nation. The six semifinalists were selected based on the project’s ability to achieve meaningful, measurable outcomes to create systemic large-scale change.

The six semifinalist institutions are:

  • California State University, Fresno
  • The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art
  • Elon University
  • Marquette University
  • University of North Alabama
  • Western Michigan University

“Now in its second iteration, the Phi Kappa Phi Excellence in Innovation Award serves as a showcase for the remarkable innovations that are making a difference every day on campuses across the country,” said Society Executive Director Dr. Mary Todd. “Phi Kappa Phi is proud to recognize the good work for which higher education is known through this award. We are eager to learn more as the semifinalists submit their portfolios.”

Three finalists for the award, selected by a jury of emeritus presidents and provosts, will be announced in May. The recipient institution will receive $100,000 in tangible recognition of its best practice in response to the changes and challenges facing higher education in the 21st century. The award will be presented at the Society’s biennial convention on August 3 in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Since 1932, Phi Kappa Phi has awarded fellowships and grants to members and students on its chapter campuses. Currently, $1.4 million is awarded each biennium through programs that last year recognized over 350 individuals. The Excellence in Innovation Award, first awarded in 2016 to Tulane University, is the Society’s only award for institutions.

For more information about the award, visit