Member Mentions – June 2022

Alyssa Papa
Jun 27, 2022

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi's international community is a unique blend of students, academicians, and corporate and civic leaders from all fields of endeavor. Membership in Phi Kappa Phi recognizes and rewards academic success. That recognition doesn’t end after initiation. From their time in school to their professional career, Society members’ hard work continues to pay off and be acknowledged.

Phi Kappa Phi would like to congratulate these members on their recent achievements:

Erik Aikins (University of Southern Maine) who recently completed his studies as a student at the University of Southern Maine was awarded the 2022 Robert Masterson Nursing Scholarship. The $2,500 scholarship is awarded each year to a senior nursing student who is attending a Maine college or university and plans to pursue a career in critical care.

Sophia Berg (Angelo State University) earned the 2021-2022 Lone Star Conference Scholar-Athlete Awards for ASU. Berg was the LSC Academic Player of the Year for volleyball and earned All-America and Academic All-America honors. She graduated summa cum laude in May with her Bachelor of Science degree in biology.

Grace French (Bradley University) earned a National Fastpitch Coaches Association All-Region Honors for the first time in her career. French is Bradley’s second  Second-Team NFCA All-Mideast honoree.

Lisa Hanson (Purdue University) was recently selected as the 2022 Kentucky Education Association’s Teacher of the Year. The annual KEA Award for Teaching Excellence is given to a KEA educator who exhibits excellence in five critical areas of teaching – professional practice, advocacy for the profession, attention to diversity, community engagement, and leadership in professional development. She is a fourth-grade teacher at Northern Elementary in Georgetown, Kentucky and has been teaching for 23 years.

Rynita Julien (Elon University) is the recipient of the 2022 Richard H. Behrman Award, honoring her academic excellence, contributions to the classroom environment through active participation, and demonstrated leadership in both program and community activities.

Nahui A. Gonzalez Millan (California State University, Stanislaus) earned Second-Place Honors in the undergraduate education division of the 36th Annual CSU Student Research hosted by San Francisco State. Her research focused on data collection of undocumented college students for a proposed mentorship program.

David Millstein (Millersville University) was promoted to Branch Chief of the National Fire Data Center at the U.S. Fire Administration at the end of 2021.

Ruth Nichols (Florida Institute of Technology) was named a 2022 Astronaut Scholar. The Astronaut Scholarship Foundation recognizes students with the scholarship who are among the best and brightest STEM students in the country.

Petina Powers (Texas Woman’s University) was recently awarded a David L. Boren Fellowship which she will use to study the Hindi language this summer before traveling to India to conduct research. Powers is the first TWU student to earn a Boren Fellowship.

Benjamin Yetman (University of North Georgia) earned one of two $1,000 college leadership scholarship awards presented by the Association of Military Colleges and Schools of the United States.

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock honored its tops students for the 2021-2022 academic year. The Chemistry Department honored Lauv Patel with the Outstanding Graduating Senior Award, Ruby Trotter received the AIC Outstanding Graduating Senior Award, Tripti Shukla received the Outstanding Graduating Senior Award and Hannah Krehbiel received the Outstanding Graduating Senior Award and Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award. Krehbiel was also recognized by The Donaghey College of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics with the Outstanding Student Award for Bachelor's Degree Level. Hussein Al-Hamdani was honored by the Depart of Systems Engineering with the Outstanding Doctoral Student Award.  The Department of Information Science honored Karen Watts DiCicco with the Outstanding COSMOS Graduate Award for the Information Science Graduate Program and Outstanding Academic Achievement Award for the Information Quality CIS Ph.D. Program and recognized Adeola Adesoba with the Outstanding Graduate Award for MS in Information Quality and Outstanding Academic Achievement Award for MS in Information Quality.

Do you have an accomplishment you’d like to share? Email your member news to news@phikappaphi.orgto be considered for inclusion.