Chapter Update – September 2020

Phi Kappa Phi staff
Sep 1, 2020

Chapter Update art

The September edition of the Chapter Update focuses on scholarships presented to students at two chapters in California and Ohio. These chapters also award scholarships in honor of former officers who inspired a love of learning through their donations and commitment to serving Phi Kappa Phi.

Your chapter can establish a commitment to service by participating in the Fall Service Project sponsored by the Council of Students. Don’t forget to register your chapter service project by Sept. 30!

SJSU Awards Two Chapter Scholarships

two SJSU scholarship recipientsChapter 67 at San Jose State University in San Jose, California, awarded two scholarships to student members this past spring.

Taranjeet Rathore, a nursing student, was awarded the Gus Lease Scholarship. The $2,500 scholarship is awarded to a second semester junior and named after former chapter president, the late Dr. Gus Lease, who proudly served his chapter for more than 40 years.

Gurpreet Klar, a chemical engineering student, was awarded the Anna Lambourne Scholarship. The $2,000 scholarship was made possible due to a bequest received from long standing Phi Kappa Phi member Anna Lambourn.

In addition to the chapter’s scholarship opportunities, each spring the chapter hosts meet-and-greet events to share information about the Society and discuss the benefits of joining, even providing a special presentation for international students. The events proved to be a success with more than 200 students in attendance.

“What is really special about the ceremony is that we first play a recording of Gus singing the alma mater,” said Dr. Susan McClory, chapter president. Lease sang his rendition of the alma mater “Hail, Spartans Hail” at initiation ceremonies for many years and performed as a vocal soloist at 65 commencement ceremonies.

For more information about the chapter at SJSU or their scholarships, visit   

YSU five pics

YSU Awards Five Chapter Scholarships to Students

Chapter 143 at Youngstown State University in Youngstown, Ohio, presented five scholarships to students during the spring 2020 semester.

Jacob Tomory was awarded the John R. Loch Scholarship Award. The $1,000 award is presented to the chapter's national fellowship nominee. Tomory currently attends Yale Law School and is a 2020 Phi Kappa Phi Marcus L. Urann Fellowship recipient.

Noor Khalayleh was awarded the Mavrigian-Grim Scholarship Award, named in honor of Dr. Gus Mavrigian and the late Dr. John Grim, who served as active YSU chapter leaders. The $1,000 scholarship is awarded to a member who intends to pursue graduate work. Khalayleh is currently attending graduate school at The Ohio State University.

Maddie Stears, a biology and pre-med major entering her second year at YSU was awarded the Gratia Murphy First-Year Award. The $500 award was established in 1994 and named in honor of Dr. Gratia Murphy, a founding member of the Phi Kappa Phi chapter at YSU. Applicants must write a 500-word essay on what they believe to be the meaning and purpose of education.

Lauren Rager, a junior anthropology major was awarded the 2020 Service Scholarship. The $250 scholarship is awarded to undergraduate students who have completed a minimum of 30 to 60 credit hours. Although applicants are not required to be members, they are required to submit a 500-word essay on their most meaningful service activity and include how the service activity impacted them and those who benefitted from the activity. Rager completed over 2,000 hours of community service during her first two years at YSU.

YSU also presented a $500 Merit Award to the runner up in the chapter's campus Fellowship competition. The 2020 Merit Award was presented to Christopher Julian who is currently pursuing a graduate degree at Bowling Green State University.

In addition to the scholarships presented this year, the chapter has an additional scholarship for research. The Research Scholarship provides undergraduate students who have completed 60 to 90 credit hours a $250 award. Applicants are not required to be members, however, they must write a 150-word abstract and be endorsed by a faculty member or research collaborator. This award was not presented during 2020 due to campus closures from COVID-19.

Got News?

Please share your chapter news, events and service projects with Michelle Lowery, chapter development director, so they can be included in future chapter updates and shared on social media. Pictures with members are encouraged!

Top photos submitted by Susan McClory – From left are Taranjeet Rathore and Gurpreet Klar.

Bottom photos submitted by Ron Shaklee – From left are Jacob Tomory, Noor Khalayleh, Maddie Stears, Lauren Rager and Christopher Julian.