Council of Students

In This Section:

About Phi Kappa Phi

The Council of Students is comprised of seven student vice presidents from chapters across the nation that serve as the student engagement committee for the Society and as liaisons between all student members and the national office.

Established in 2007, the Council is tasked with enhancing communication with student vice presidents, planning and hosting the SVP Leadership Summit, and interacting with student vice presidents in the Society’s five divisions. Council members serve a two-year term and are appointed by the Society’s Executive Director prior to each Biennial Convention.

Need help planning an event for your chapter? We encourage you to reach out to a Council member for assistance by clicking their name below.

2020-2022 Council of Students

Quinn Mahannah Ceilly

Quinn Mahannah Ceilly, Division III
State University of New York at Oswego
B.S. in psychology, cognitive science, May 2022

Why did you join Phi Kappa Phi? I joined my university's Phi Kappa Phi chapter, because, upon discovering what an honor it was to be invited to join, I thought it would be a wonderful opportunity to connect with other students, faculty, and staff on campus, as well as meet others from additional chapters. The emphasis on leadership, volunteer service, and recognition for academic excellence and a love of learning makes the Phi Kappa Phi community a unique organization to be a part of. As I have developed into a young adult, I have been steadily building leadership skills, and this organization offers additional opportunity for such skill development.

Fun Fact: I participated in gymnastics for 9 1/2 years, starting at age 5.
Caglar Erdogan

Caglar Erdogan, Division II
Florida Institute of Technology
Pursuing a Ph.D. in ocean engineering

Why did you join Phi Kappa Phi? I joined Phi Kappa Phi because it is a privilege to be a part of the nation's oldest and most selective all-discipline honor society, and it has a captivating motto "Let the love of learning rule humanity."

Fun Fact: I saved a person from drowning. She fell off her boat.

Tristan Matthew Hightower

 Tristan Matthew Hightower, Division I
University of Maryland
Pursuing a Ph.D. in political science

Why did you join Phi Kappa Phi? In order to promote and foster a love of learning amongst like-minded people and to recognize the achievements that so many work so hard for.

Fun Fact: I once *literally* ran into Sen. Elizabeth Warren on the U.S. Capitol subway. 

Matthew Lee Melton

Matthew Lee Melton, Division I
University of Kentucky
Pursuing an M.D.

Why did you join Phi Kappa Phi? I joined the society originally due to the prestige that the title seemed to hold and my desire to be as well-rounded of an undergraduate student as possible. It was not until I joined, however, that I realized that Phi Kappa Phi was much more than just an honors society... it is a group of like-minded people from around the nation that come together to help one another excel academically and personally.

Fun Fact: I own two dogs, a husky and a German shepherd-husky... they are my everything!

Alyson Tudong Nguyen

Alyson Tudong Nguyen, Division II
University of South Alabama
B.S. in biomedical sciences, May 2021

Why did you join Phi Kappa Phi? Dr. Sally Steadman has been an incredible faculty mentor of mine. After I realized that she and other well-respected faculty were part of Phi Kappa Phi, I became curious. Researching the society and talking to multiple students ultimately encouraged me to join.

Fun Fact: I am a cheeseball for dad jokes. In fact, I have several books completely comprised of them. 

Vivian Osei Poku

Vivian Osei Poku, Division I
South Dakota State University
Pursuing a Ph.D. in biochemistry

Why did you join Phi Kappa Phi? I joined Phi Kappa Phi after talking to a senior colleague who was a member. He shared his experience with me and told me of how prestigious this society is. Being an active member, I have come to acknowledge that Phi Kappa Phi encourages its members to strive for excellence in every sphere of life and to give their best in serving humanity.

Fun Fact: I enjoying cooking and trying out new recipes. I love to travel around with friends to have fun, view and appreciate nature.

Christopher Neil Pritchard

 Christopher "Neil" Pritchard", Division II
The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
Pursuing a Ph.D. in computational mathematics

Why did you join Phi Kappa Phi? I joined the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi because I believe that in order to grow as learners we have to look beyond our own fields. I saw that Phi Kappa Phi provided a platform that allows us to connect and foster growth in the academic community.

Fun Fact: I am an avid hiker and have walked portions of the West Highland Way in Scotland, The Camino de Santiago in Spain, and the Appalachian Trail in the United States.

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi

7576 Goodwood Boulevard
Baton Rouge, LA 70806