In This Section

2023 Study Abroad Recipients

Phi Kappa Phi Study Abroad Grants are designed to help support undergraduates as they seek knowledge and experience in their academic fields by studying abroad. A total of 125 $1,000 grants were awarded this year.

Applicants do not have to be Society members but must attend an institution with an active Phi Kappa Phi chapter. Applicants also must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.75 or higher on a 4.0 scale. Click here for more information about the award.

2023 Study Abroad Grant Recipients

Name Phi Kappa Phi Chapter
Yasmin Alemayehu Virginia Tech 
Maxine Elaine Amaru San Diego State University
Tyler Anderson Slippery Rock University of Pennsylvania 
Aarthi Annamalai Texas Tech University 
Grace Beauchamp The University of Alabama
Mary Anna Bentley University of Georgia 
Reagan Bingaman  Arkansas State University 
Luke Bowles  University of Georgia 
Lindsey Brinkman  Miami University 
Emma Bryant Nova Southeastern University
McKensi Bryce University of North Texas
Grace Burns Brigham Young University
Courtney Butler Brigham Young University
Jeriel Byron-Dixon Berea College
Lena Caffall James Madison University
Evan Carfrey Clarkson University
Tess Carichner University of Michigan
Anne Carithers University of Memphis
Carolyn Carlic  Nazareth College 
Sydney Carmer1 The University of North Carolina at Charlotte
Kamani Carney The University of New Mexico
Meaghan Caron  University of Maine
Faith Chavez The University of Texas at Austin
Charley Chehardy Louisiana State University
Kathryn Grace Cooper Georgia College & State University
Claire Cox The University of Kansas
Camille Culp The University of Mississippi
Brianna Cupp The University of Mississippi
Chloe Curbelo Columbus State University
Brianna Cypcar  Carroll University
Tamilore Dairo Mercer University
Courtney Dalton University of Michigan
Reagan de la Cruz University of Florida
Caitlin Deffendall University of Kentucky 
Jaycie Doerr Western Illinois University
Rosalinda Dominguez Columbus State University
Jamie Dougall University of Idaho
Arina Drovetskaya James Madison University
Anisia Dumitrascu San Diego State University
M. Elizabeth Dyess  Eastern Washington University
Lara Edgeman Mercer University
Callee Egan Florida State University
Laura Rose Jean Findlay University of Southern California
Kennedy Foxwell University of Houston
Anna Beth Gandy Mississippi State University
Modeste Gihozo Rukundo The University of Oklahoma
Molly Gilbert Saint Mary's College of California
Lola-Marie Guerra Florida International University
Caitlyn Guthrie Mississippi State University
Shayden Hanes Washburn University 
Hailey Henderlight The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Haley Lian Hernandez The University of Texas at Austin
Haley Huynh  Clemson University 
Kaitlyn Johnson  Truman State University
Elias Johnson2 Brigham Young University
Kylie Kapelke St. Norbert College
Isabelle Keh University of South Florida
Nick King  University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Kathryn Klassen Western Kentucky University 
Worth Lacy Texas Tech University
Asher Lafferty-McGill Ball State University
Lina Landin The University of Texas at San Antonio
Lila Langley The University of Mississippi 
Sarah Levin University of Michigan
Hayley Lightsey Clemson University
Spencer Lindemood  The University of Alabama
Aoife Lyons  Elmhurst University
Tasha Macholan South Dakota State University
Andre O. Magpantay University of Philippines
Katherine Markello Nazareth College
Keegan McCain The University of Texas at San Antonio 
Chloe D. Mcdougal University of Idaho 
Preston Parker McGee The University of Alabama 
Valerie McMullen Duquesne University
Emma Montgomery Texas Tech University
Evan Moody Miami University
Rebekah L. Moore University of Memphis
Abi Morton  Clemson University
Grace Nelson  The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Celia Neuzil Iowa State University
Trishta Nguyen  The University of Texas at Austin
Lizette Orozco University of the Pacific
Samantha Padgett University of Kentucky
Adeline Peat  Pennsylvania State University 
Josh Phillips Mississippi State University
Mikenna Rainwater  Texas Woman's University 
Miller Reames  Jacksonville University 
Julia Rieth Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Prescott
Matthew Roberson Nazareth College 
Raquel Ruiz  Texas A&M University
Lily Saar  Lycoming College
Erin Sainsbury Berea College
Isabella Santos James Madison University
Amanda Sarmientos Florida International University
Connor Scriven Alfred University
Sarah Severin Texas A&M University 
Maria Sholtes Duquesne University
Zachary Silva Brigham Young University
Jonnie Simmons  University of Houston-Downtown
Maddy Simonsen Westmont College
Navya Singh The University of Kansas
Evie Sly The University of Tampa
Lorenzo Spaccarelli University of the Pacific
DeAsia Speaks  West Virginia University 
Seth St. Onge  Texas A&M University
Addison Stevens  University of South Alabama 
Madison Stevens The University of Kansas 
Andrea Surita Texas A&M University - Kingsville
Sophie Susano The University of Tennessee, Knoxville 
Cameron Taylor Western Kentucky University
Madison Temple Iowa State University
Isabella Adair Trotter  Lycoming College
Haley Turner  Texas A&M University - Commerce
Vineeth Vaidyula  Virginia Commonwealth University
Melissa D. Van Klingeren  Lycoming College 
Ashley Velazquez  University of Houston
Serena White Western Kentucky University
Kali Whitford  Virginia Tech
Olivia Wiench  Iowa State University 
Amelia Wilcox St. Norbert College
Brynna Williamson The University of Texas at Tyler
Sophie Wingo  University of Kentucky
Marilyn Yang University of Maryland, College Park
Mya Young Florida International University

Named Study Abroad Grants

Two Phi Kappa Phi Study Abroad Grants have been endowed by generous donors. Below are descriptions of the Society's named Study Abroad Grants and the contributors who made them possible:

1 - McKenzie Study Abroad Grant - Established in 2011 from the generosity of past Society president Wendell H. McKenzie, Ph.D. and his wife Georgie McKenzie, the grant will be given annually to a successful applicant from North Carolina State University. Should there not be a successful applicant from North Carolina State University, the funds will be granted to a successful candidate from another Phi Kappa Phi member institution.

2 - Larry Sommers Study Abroad Grant - Former Society president, Larry Sommers of Okemos, Michigan, did not have the opportunity to study abroad as a University of Wisconsin undergraduate in the late 1930’s. His endowed gift to the Society will make such opportunities available for future generations of students to enrich their education.

Back to top