Member Mentions – June 2023

Alyssa Papa
Jun 26, 2023

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi's international community is a unique blend of students, academicians, and corporate and civic leaders from all fields of endeavor. Membership in Phi Kappa Phi recognizes and rewards academic success. That recognition doesn’t end after initiation. From their time in school to their professional career, Society members’ hard work continues to pay off and be acknowledged.

Phi Kappa Phi would like to congratulate these members on their recent achievements:

Philip Chapman (McKendree University) was awarded the Edward Jones' Soar to Success Award, which recognizes outstanding performance of "rising stars" within the organization. In addition, the Fortune 500 firm awarded Philip with the Century Award for exemplary performance and the Jack Phelan Achievement Award. Due to his outstanding success, Edward Jones extended an offer for Philip to become a partner of the firm. Lastly, Philip earned his doctorate in finance from Liberty University where he was recognized as a "Graduate with Distinction" to assist him in providing high quality financial advice to the citizens of Murray, Kentucky.

Rayleigh Deaton (University of Kentucky) has been offered a Fulbright U.S. Student Program scholarship to travel abroad to teach, study or pursue research for the 2023-24 academic year. Recipients of Fulbright grants are selected based on academic or professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership potential in their fields.

Samantha Fabian (University of Mississippi) was awarded the coveted David L. Boren Scholarships by The National Security Education Program. Fabian plans to use funds from her Boren award to study at National Taiwan Normal University's Mandarin Training Center in Taipei.

Yaseen Ginnab (Middle Tennessee State University) was awarded The Philip and Marilyn Mathis Scholarship, named for a former Dean of the MTSU Honors College.

Edith Marie Green (University of Mississippi) received a Fulbright English Teaching Assistant award to teach in Germany.

Kaitlyn Hohmeier (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) was awarded a National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship to support her graduate studies and research in mathematics at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Casey Iwamoto and John Jacobson (Mississippi State University) were among Mississippi State forestry students honored for academic excellence in the state's only nationally accredited natural resource program. Iwamoto, a forestry doctoral student, received the Moehring Outstanding Graduate Student Award-Ph.D. Level and Jacobson, a forestry undergraduate student, received the Sophomore Academic Achievement Award.

Elizabeth Keen (Mississippi State University) won first place in Radio Sportscast or Sports Program and second place in Best Sports Column at the 2023 Mississippi Press Association award ceremony. The awards honor those for their work in broadcast, print and online journalism.

Erin Lomenick (University of Mississippi) was named a 2023 Taylor Medal honoree from the University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy, the university’s highest academic award.

Connor Prim (Middle Tennessee State University) received an Outstanding Student Award from the MTSU Honors College for his academic achievement extra-curricular activities both on and off campus.

Rebekah White (University of Arkansas at Little Rock) was honored as a top student for the 2022-23 academic year in The University of Arkansas at Little Rock Department of Biology, receiving the John D. Rickett Outstanding Graduate Student Award.

Do you have an accomplishment you’d like to share? Email your member news to to be considered for inclusion.

Related Posts