Phi Kappa Phi Announces Semifinalists for Excellence in Innovation Award

Alyssa Papa
Feb 25, 2022

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi today announced the six semifinalists for the 2022 Excellence in Innovation Award. The $100,000 award, given once per biennium, will recognize an institution for achievement in finding powerful answers to important local, regional, national or global challenges.

The semifinalists were chosen from a large pool of applicants representing multifaceted projects at colleges and universities across the nation. The six semifinalists were selected based on the project’s ability to achieve meaningful, measurable outcomes to create systemic large-scale change.

The six semifinalist institutions are:

  • Ball State University
  • Boise State University
  • Longwood University
  • Pittsburg State University
  • University of Colorado Colorado Springs
  • University of North Georgia

“Since 2016 the Phi Kappa Phi Excellence in Innovation Award has showcased remarkable innovations at higher education institutions across the country. This year’s semifinalists are adding to this tradition of academic excellence and demonstrate a deep commitment to engaging their community of scholars in service to others,” said Society Executive Director and CEO Bradley Newcomer. “Phi Kappa Phi is proud to recognize and support these institutions and their faculty and staff as they work to improve their campus and local communities.”

Three finalists for the award will be announced in April. The recipient institution will receive $100,000 in tangible recognition of its best practice in response to the changes and challenges facing higher education in the 21st century. The award will be presented at the Society’s biennial convention on Aug. 5 in Orlando, Florida.

Since 1932, Phi Kappa Phi has awarded fellowships and grants to members and students on its chapter campuses. Currently, more than $1 million is awarded annually through programs that last year recognized over 425 individuals. The Excellence in Innovation Award, first awarded in 2016 is the Society’s only award for institutions.

For more information about the award, visit