Member Mentions – June 2021

Marla Elsea
Jun 28, 2021

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi's international community is a unique blend of students, academicians, and corporate and civic leaders from all fields of endeavor. Membership in Phi Kappa Phi recognizes and rewards academic success. That recognition doesn’t end after initiation. From their time in school to their professional career, Society members’ hard work continues to pay off and be acknowledged.

Phi Kappa Phi would like to congratulate these members on their recent achievements:

Koushank Harinder Singh Ahuja (State University of New York at Oswego) was chosen as an Oswego Alumni Association's 2021 Outstanding Senior Award recipient. He also received the Dr. I. David Glick Scholarship for Excellence in Communication.

Afaaf Amatullah(Elmhurst University) received the Cureton Award for Service to the Global Community at Elmhurst. She was also named a semi-finalist in the Fulbright U.S. Student Scholar Program.

Lesia L. Crumpton-Young (Tennessee State University) has been named president of Texas Southern University. She joins TSU from her most her most recent post as provost and senior vice president for academic affairs and chief academic officer at Morgan State University in Baltimore, Maryland.

Isabella Grasso (Clarkson University) received the Frederica Clarkson Award based on her scholarship and promise of outstanding achievement. The award, along with the Levinus Clarkson Award, are traditionally given to the top two graduating students in the class.

Heather Hulburt Norris (Auburn University) has been named provost and executive vice chancellor at Appalachian State University. Norris joined the school as a faculty member in 2003 and most recently served as the dean of the Walker College of Business.

Judi See (Pennsylvania State University) was promoted to Distinguished Member of Technical Staff at Sandia National Laboratories. The position is reserved for 10% of the workforce who have demonstrated the highest level of professional expertise and impact the labs’ mission in unique and noteworthy ways.

Angie Smith (Augusta University) was named the Outstanding Master of Arts in Teaching Student in Middle Grades Education by the Augusta University College of Education. The Outstanding Student Awards are based on high academic achievement, career readiness and character.

Michaela Thompson (California State University-Fullerton) has earned the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute's 2021 Outstanding Graduate Award for her enthusiasm, leadership skills and strong academics during her time at CSUF.

California State University-Stanislaus awarded the 2021 Metzger-Geiger Award to two Phi Kappa Phi members for graduating with cumulative 4.0 grade-point averages. They were Marcus Ruddicks, who was an economics major, and Riley Taylor, a liberal studies major with a concentration in Earth science.

Westmont College has named its Outstanding Graduates of 2021. These students honored during the Academic Awards Convocation included several Phi Kappa Phi members. They are Karis ChoKendra DaytonChristine DubellWinston GeeLogan HodgsonTaylor JenningsSharon KoLaura Joy PhillipsOlivia Reichwald and Samantha Stroming.

Do you have an accomplishment you’d like to share? Email your member news to to be considered for inclusion.

Related Posts