Member Mentions – January 2024

Alyssa Papa
Jan 29, 2024

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi's international community is a unique blend of students, academicians, and corporate and civic leaders from all fields of endeavor. Membership in Phi Kappa Phi recognizes and rewards academic success. That recognition doesn’t end after initiation. From their time in school to their professional career, Society members’ hard work continues to pay off and be acknowledged.

Phi Kappa Phi would like to congratulate these members on their recent achievements:

William Cunion (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign) has been named vice president for academic affairs at The University of Mount Union.

Kinley G. DeSpain (Missouri State University) recently received the Tau Sigma National Honor Society Scholarship for transfer students worth $1,000.

Kaylee Gillespie (Francis Marion University) was named to the 2023 College Sports Communicators Academic All-District Team for the Southeast Region of NCAA Division II.

Christopher Phillips (University of Massachusetts) was recently nominated for the Global Cardiovascular Awards 2024 for Innovation in Cardiac Surgery, a prestigious accolade supported by Cardiovascular News. 

Clifford Timpson (University of Maryland Global Campus) received a Science Trailblazer award at the 2024 BEYA STEM DTX Conference. Trailblazers are men and women who are demonstrating outstanding performance in STEM.

Mike Turner (Michigan State University) received the 2023 Roger Williams Peace Prize for Writing, awarded by the Alabama Writers’ Cooperative (AWC), which recognized his poem, “Sense of Peace,” as the, “writing of any genre/category that best promotes peace among human beings.” AWC, formed in 1923 and one of the oldest continuing writers’ organizations in the United States, supports Alabama’s writers and literary traditions. 

Peta Banks and Emilie Wiedenmeyer (Texas State University) were among the 110 doctoral students in the U.S. and Canada selected to receive the $20,000 Scholar Award from the P.E.O. Sisterhood for 2023-24. The P.E.O. Scholar Awards provide substantial merit-based awards for women of the U.S. and Canada who are pursuing a doctoral-level degree at an accredited college or university.

Do you have an accomplishment you’d like to share? Email your member news to to be considered for inclusion.