Member Mentions – May 2022

Marla Elsea
May 30, 2022

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi's international community is a unique blend of students, academicians, and corporate and civic leaders from all fields of endeavor. Membership in Phi Kappa Phi recognizes and rewards academic success. That recognition doesn’t end after initiation. From their time in school to their professional career, Society members’ hard work continues to pay off and be acknowledged.

Phi Kappa Phi would like to congratulate these members on their recent achievements:

Oksana Bykova Dognon (Nova Southeastern University) has been awarded the Susan and Neil Katz Family Changing Lives Scholarship. The scholarship is designed to support an international student in the Department of Conflict Resolution Studies.

Shreya Daniel (University of Southern California) has earned a University Trustees Award at USC. The award is given to graduating students who have attained the highest scholarship average of all undergraduates at the university.

Grace Dragna (University of Mississippi) was inducted into Old Miss 2021-2022 Hall of Fame. This is one of the highest honors given to students at the school. Dragna is a dual public policy leadership and economics major.

Mara Flaherty (Bradley University) was named to the First-Team Missouri Valley Conference Scholar-Athletes as part of Bradley University's Women's Golf Team. Flaherty has a 3.95 cumulative grade point average as an engineering major and is ranked 11th in Bradley history with a 78.30 career stroke average.

Grace French (Bradley University) has been named the Missouri Valley Conference Player of the Week for the second time during this season playing with Bradley Softball. French also earned second-team recognition as an All-Missouri Valley Conference selection.

Madison George (Elon University) was named a 2022 Goldwater Scholarship recipient. The scholarship is awarded by the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation and honors students who intend to pursue research careers in the natural sciences, mathematics and engineering.

Tiffany Parsons (University of West Georgia) joined other UWG faculty to work to get the school added to the U.S. Department of Education's Second Change Pell Experiment. UWG now joins other schools that support formerly incarcerated persons by allowing them to receive Pell Grants.

Tripti Shukla (University of Arkansas at Little Rock) has been named the winner of the 2022 Edward L. Whitbeck Memorial Award. The award was established by Frank L. and Beverly Whitbeck in honor of their son Edward.

Camila Van Oost (Pennsylvania State University) was named the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences' student marshal as the top graduate overall. Van Oost earned a bachelor's degree in environmental systems engineering and graduated summa cum laude with a 4.0 cumulative grade-point average.

Peter Westerbaan (Lock Haven University) was recognized by Clemson University as one of the top students in the College of Science and earned the title of Outstanding Graduate in Learning.

Angelo State University has selected Morgan Preston to receive the university's 2022 Presidential Award as the top graduate in the class. Connor Blake was also honored with a Distinguished Student Award from the school's Norris-Vincent College of Business.

California State University, Fresno, has announced the 2022 Graduate Deans' Medalists. They include Society members Joseph Calcagno, Craig School of Business; Audia Dixon, College of Arts and Humanities; and Jaklin Rowley, Lyles College of Engineering.  The honorees are chosen based on academic excellence, community involvement and other achievements.

Clemson University awarded four students 2022 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships and two of them were Phi Kappa Phi members. Venkata “Anish” Chaluvadi, a 2021 Clemson University Honors College graduate, is continuing his studies at the University of Cambridge. Nicholas Deas is a senior in the Honors College and a computer science major.

Do you have an accomplishment you’d like to share? Email your member news to to be considered for inclusion.