Member Mentions – February 2020

Feb 24, 2020
Member Mentions-web

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi's international community is a unique blend of students, academicians, and corporate and civic leaders from all fields of endeavor. Membership in Phi Kappa Phi recognizes and rewards academic success. That recognition doesn’t end after initiation. From their time in school to their professional career, Society members’ hard work continues to pay off and be acknowledged.

Phi Kappa Phi would like to congratulate these members on their recent achievements:

Natasha George (Nazareth College) is one of three Nazareth students selected to attend the 12th Annual Clinton Global Initiative University at the University of Edinburgh, Scotland, in April. George’s CGI U Commitment to Action focuses on acquiring resources to create a recycling project in Rochester, New York. George is an international studies major with a focus on the environment and climate change.

Kathryn Jablokow (Pennsylvania State University) will serve a two-year term as program director for the National Science Foundation's Engineering Design and Systems Engineering program in Alexandria, Virginia. While there, Jablokow will collaborate with others on U.S. and international science, engineering and education while retaining ties with Penn State and returning to them with new insights and experience.

Emma Mansberg (University of Alabama) was honored with the Horizon Award at the 12th annual Realizing the Dream Legacy Banquet in January. According to the University of Alabama, “The award goes to a young person who demonstrates outstanding vision and hope in promoting social justice, equality and peace.” Mansberg is a political science major and will graduate in May.

Brett Ranon Nachman (University of Wisconsin-Madison) has been named as a recipient of the K. Patricia Cross Future Leaders Award by the Association of American Colleges and Universities. The award recognizes doctoral-level graduate students who show promise as future leaders of higher education. He is one of seven chosen from nominees across the country.

Judith Zaffirini (Texas A&M International University) has received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the League of United Latin American Citizens Council 12 in Laredo, Texas, for her work ethic and public service. As a member of the Texas State Senate, she has passed more bills than any other legislator in the history of the state of Texas.

Do you have an accomplishment you’d like to share? Email your member news to to be considered for inclusion.