News

In This Section:

About Phi Kappa Phi

  

Volunteer Spotlight – July 2016

by Hannah Breaux | Jul 01, 2016


bodegravenDonna Van Bodegraven
Elon University

Name: Donna Van Bodegraven

Chapter Position: Past President

University Position: Associate Professor of Spanish

Years of Service to the Chapter: 16 years

Degree(s)/Discipline: Ph.D., Spanish - Latin American Literature; M.A., Spanish; M.A., Latin American Studies

How did you become involved as a chapter officer? I was recruited by the faculty mentor assigned to me when I first came to Elon 17 years ago. She was chapter president at the time (Dr. Nancy Harris).

What has your chapter done that has made you proud? Our chapter earned Chapter of Excellence recognition (2014-2015). This is the culmination of outstanding achievements including having nominated several students who have won Phi Kappa Phi Fellowships. We have received literacy grants and we have earned other recognitions.

What does Phi Kappa Phi mean to you? The organization has allowed me to be part of recognizing and celebrating academic excellence and the love of learning with wonderful Elon students, faculty, staff and alumni.

What do you enjoy most about being a chapter officer? I truly relish the satisfaction of giving back to an exceptional organization that has been an essential part in the recognition of the academic achievements of our community, but especially of our students.

What advice would you give to a new chapter officer?
 I encourage any new chapter officer to attend a Partnering for Success event; attend the biennial convention; invite new members from the faculty, staff alumni of your university; invite student members to nominate faculty and staff for membership; identify Phi Kappa Phi members among new employees and invite them to make your chapter their new home; encourage new members to get involved through induction ceremony support and eventually to become members of the executive board.

What are your hobbies? I spend most of my free time watching collegiate sports of all kinds and supporting Elon's athletic teams (especially men's and women's basketball, men's and women's tennis and football). I also knit and I love to travel.

Where are you from? I was born and grew up in Philadelphia, Pa. However, North Carolina has been home now for 17 years.

See Donna's CV.

You are not allowed to post comments.

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi