Phi Kappa Phi Announces Finalists for Excellence in Innovation Award

Alyssa Papa
May 11, 2022

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi today announced the three finalists for its 2022 Excellence in Innovation Award. The $100,000 award, given once per biennium, recognizes one institution of higher learning for achievement in finding powerful answers to important local, regional, national or global challenges.

The finalists were chosen from a pool of six semifinalists representing multifaceted projects at institutions across the nation. Each institution was assessed on the project’s ability to achieve meaningful, measurable outcomes to create systemic large-scale change.

The three institutions chosen as finalists are:

  • Ball State University
  • Boise State University
  • Longwood University

“The projects presented by the finalists and semifinalists in the Phi Kappa Phi Excellence in Innovation Award represent innovations for which higher education has so long been known for. We are proud to recognize and celebrate these institutions working to transform their campus communities through intentional, systemic, large-scale change,” said Society Executive Director and CEO Dr. Bradley R. Newcomer.

The 2022 recipient will be announced Thursday, May 26, and will receive $100,000 in tangible recognition of its best practice in response to the changes and challenges facing higher education in the 21st century.

The three semifinalist institutions receiving honorable mention are Pittsburg State University, University of Colorado Colorado Springs and the University of North Georgia.

The Phi Kappa Phi Excellence in Innovation award is part of the Society’s robust award and grant programs, which give more than $1 million each year to outstanding members and students on chapter campuses through study abroad grants, dissertation fellowships, funding for post-baccalaureate development, member and chapter awards, and grants for local, national and international literacy initiatives. The Excellence in Innovation Award, first awarded in 2016, is the Society’s only award for institutions.

For more information about the award, visit