Phi Kappa Phi Announces 2021 Dissertation Fellows

Alyssa Perez
Apr 6, 2021

Phi Kappa Phi today announced the recipients of a 2021 Phi Kappa Phi Dissertation Fellowship. The $10,000 fellowships are designed to support active Society members in the dissertation writing stage of doctoral study.

This year’s class of fellows represents a group of 10 students spanning all academic disciplines from science and technology to arts and humanities.

The 2021 Phi Kappa Phi Dissertation Fellows are:

  • Anton L.V. Avancena, University of Michigan
  • Brittnie E. Bloom, San Diego State University
  • Jenna M. Hartley, North Carolina State University
  • Thomas Herbst, University of Missouri
  • Kathleen Hupfeld, University of Florida
  • Renee Jordan, Northern Arizona University
  • Ann Meejung Kim, University of Wisconsin
  • Elaine Penagos, Emory University
  • Emily Sample, George Mason University
  • Shawna Sisler, University of Utah

“As many as half of all graduate students fail to complete their degrees. Phi Kappa Phi created its Dissertation Fellowship to enable doctoral students to have the necessary resources for that all-important dissertation writing phase of their work. We are proud to support these scholars as they complete their degrees,” said Society Executive Director Dr. Mary Todd.

The recipients were selected based on a number of criteria including how the fellowship will contribute to the completion of the dissertation, the significance of original research, and endorsement by the dissertation chair.

Established in 2014, the dissertation fellowships are part of the Society’s robust awards program, which gives more than $1 million each year to outstanding students and members through study abroad grants, graduate fellowships, funding for post-baccalaureate development, member and chapter awards, and grants for local, national and international literacy initiatives.

To learn more about the Phi Kappa Phi Dissertation Fellowship Program and this year’s recipients, please visit