Member Mentions – June 2020

Jun 29, 2020

Member Mentions-webThe Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi's international community is a unique blend of students, academicians, and corporate and civic leaders from all fields of endeavor. Membership in Phi Kappa Phi recognizes and rewards academic success. That recognition doesn’t end after initiation. From their time in school to their professional career, Society members’ hard work continues to pay off and be acknowledged.

Phi Kappa Phi would like to congratulate these members on their recent achievements:

Margaret Dedloff (Clarkson University), a graduating senior earning bachelor of science degrees in both biology and history, has been awarded the Levinus Clarkson Award for 2019-2020. This award and the Frederica Clarkson Award are traditionally given to the two top students in the graduating class.

Ellen Junn (California State University, Stanislaus) has been appointed to the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education by California's Gov. Gavin Newsom. Junn has been president of Stanislaus State since 2016.

Kameron Manshadi (California State University, San Bernardino) was named the Outstanding Undergraduate Student for 2020 at the school. Manshandi earned a bachelor of science degree in nursing.

Floyd Ormsbee (Clarkson University) an assistant professor of consumer and organizational studies in Clarkson University's David D. Reh School of Business, has been awarded the Distinguished Teaching Award for the 2019-2020 academic year.

Wesley Sparkmon (University of Mississippi) has been named a 2020 Walmart Scholar by the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Walmart Scholars Program. The scholarship is given to recipients who are committed to a career in academic pharmacy.

Jacob Talkin (Washburn University) was presented with Washburn's highest academic honor, the Sibberson Award for accomplishing top honors in scholarly pursuits, as well as demonstrating a commitment to excellence.

Abby Unger (Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College), a senior biology major, has been selected as the top academic student at ABAC. She has been accepted to the Mercer University School of Medicine for the fall.

Katie Zakrzewski (University of Arkansas at Little Rock) has earned the 2020 Edward L. Whitbeck Memorial Award, a top graduate award at UA Little Rock. In the fall, she will begin the criminal justice graduate program at UA Little Rock.

Do you have an accomplishment you’d like to share? Email your member news to to be considered for inclusion.