Phi Kappa Phi Names Semifinalists for Excellence in Innovation Award

Mar 15, 2016

The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi recently named the six semifinalists for its Excellence in Innovation Award. The new $100,000 award, given once per biennium, will recognize an institution for achievement in finding powerful answers to important local, regional, national or global challenges.

The semifinalists were assessed on the project’s ability to achieve meaningful, measurable outcomes to create systemic large-scale change. The recipient institution will receive $100,000 in tangible recognition of its best practice in response to the changes and challenges facing higher education in the 21st century.

The six semifinalist institutions include:

  • Arizona State University
  • California State University, Fullerton
  • The Evergreen State College
  • James Madison University
  • The New School
  • Tulane University 

Since 1933, Phi Kappa Phi has awarded fellowships and grants to members and students on its chapter campuses. Currently, more than $500,000 is awarded annually through programs that last year recognized over 270 individuals. The Excellence in Innovation Award is the Society’s only award for institutions.

Phi Kappa Phi will name the three finalists for the award in May. The inaugural recipient will be announced in late May and presented at the Society’s biennial convention on July 30.

For more information, visit